Graduate Student Advisory Committee

In 2007 the Department of Psychological Sciences instituted a Graduate Student Advisory Committee (GSAC) to allow a venue for graduate students to develop ideas and provide feedback to the department about the graduate programs.

The committee consists of a student representative from each of the department’s six divisions and the Associate Department Head for Graduate Studies. Representatives serve staggered two-year terms with three divisions selecting new representatives in alternating years (except the IO division which selects a new rep each year). Students in their second year and beyond are eligible to serve as representatives.

Current GSAC Representatives

Division Representative Term Email
Behavioral Neuroscience Renee Rotolo 2017-2019 renee.rotolo@uconn.edu
Clinical Psychology Timothy Michaels 2015-2018 timothy.michaels@uconn.edu
Developmental Psychology Meaghan Perdue 2017-2019 meaghan.perdue@uconn.edu
Industrial / Organizational Psychology Lauren Gannon & Taylor Barr 2017-2018 lauren.gannon@uconn.edu

taylor.barr@uconn.edu

Perception, Action, Cognition Charles Davis 2016-2018 charles.davis@uconn.edu
Social Psychology Mora Reinka 2016-2018 mora.reinka@uconn.edu

 

Recent Committee Activities/Accomplishments:

  • Successfully lobbied to have IOR positions raised from 10-hour TA to 15-hour TA
  • Successfully lobbied for increase in departmental Graduate Student Travel Funding
  • Clarified process for IOR mentoring
  • Requested clarification of proctoring responsibilities/authority resulting in new departmental Proctoring Policy (see Grad Student Handbook)
  • Registered GSAC as a university organization to secure additional funding for GSAC activities

Other Activities:

  • Meet with the Department Head to discuss issues and concerns
  • Coordinate invitation of speakers for Departmental Colloquium (please see your division rep if you have ideas for speakers)
  • Serve as a resource to new students to answer questions and provide information regarding life at UCONN in general and in their particular programs
  • Coordinate interdivisional social activities